“I could pee on this”

I Could Pee on This

Her new sweater doesn’t smell of me
I could pee on that
She’s gone out for the day and
left her laptop on the counter
I could pee on that
Her new boyfriend just pushed
my head away
I could pee on him
She’s ignoring me ignoring her
I could pee everywhere
She’s making up for it
by putting me on her lap
I could pee on this
I could pee on this

By: Francesco Marciuliano

First off i find this poem absolutely hilarious.  The first couple of times i read this poem i could really see a guy do this to his ex or roommate that he likes. But then i took another idea in my head, what if this was some kind of pet this girl had? I can see two different sides to the poem. This poem really made me chuckle because it was very different compared to other poems that we have discussed about during class that are based on human struggles  religion, love, and religion. This poem has 14 line and has a lot of repetition and imagery within this short poem. I think the speaker of this poem is some type of pet that wants all the attention and will pee on anything or act up to get attention.

Leave a Reply

